Farm Credit Donates $40,000 to Baptists on Mission

July 28, 2020

STATESVILLE, NC – The Farm Credit Associations of North Carolina recently made a donation of $40,000 to the NC Baptists on Mission as a part of the USDA Farmers to Families Food Box Program.

This donation was used to support the purchase of a refrigerated food truck. The food truck will be filled with multiple six-week food boxes of fresh produce that will be delivered to those affected by the COVID-19 pandemic across the state. Deliveries will be made to local churches, soup kitchens, and other institutions and in turn those organizations will directly provide them to individuals in need.

“NC Baptists on Mission is an organization that we support because of their commitment to the community. Working with this group sheds light on the importance of farming and the need to help serve others during this time of difficulty. This food truck will benefit those experiencing food insecurities as well as farmers who need a market for their produce. North Carolina Farm Credit Associations are proud to serve the agricultural and rural communities of our state.” Vance Dalton, CEO, Carolina Farm Credit

Carolina Farm Credit is a stockholder-owned cooperative providing financing to full and part-time farmers and agricultural-related businesses and also provides financing for the construction and purchase of homes in 54 counties through 30 branch offices.  Other financial services available are credit life insurance, appraisal services, leasing programs and financial planning.

For over 100 years, Farm Credit has been supporting rural communities and agriculture with reliable, consistent credit and financial services. 

Carolina Farm Credit serves over 11,000 members with loans outstanding totaling more than $1.7 billion.  The association’s territory covers the western half of North Carolina, with branch offices located in Albemarle, Asheboro, Asheville, Browns Summit, Burnsville, Carthage, Conover, Ellerbe, Graham, Hendersonville, Jefferson, Lenoir, Lexington, Lincolnton, Monroe, Murphy, Pilot Mountain, Roxboro, Rural Hall, Salisbury, Shelby, Siler City, Sparta, Spindale, Statesville, Taylorsville, Wilkesboro, Yadkinville, and Yanceyville.

Directors for Carolina Farm Credit are David M. Coltrane, Chairman, Pleasant Garden; Vickie N. Smitherman, Vice-Chair, East Bend; John M. Barnard, Statesville; E. Bernard Beck, Seagrove; W. Rex Bell, Statesville; Mark A. Bray, Lawsonville; Leslie G. Sparks, DVM, Sparta; Joseph A. Lail, Shelby; Clark M. Newlin, Haw River; Thomas E. Porter, Jr., Concord;  Eric McPherson, Snow Camp; D. Kaleb Rathbone, Waynesville; Lewis E. Smith, Lincolnton; L. Kim Starnes, Salisbury; Dr. Alton Thompson, Summerfield.

Back to News