The Farm Credit Associations of NC announce 2023 award recipients

March 7, 2024


The Farm Credit Associations of NC, AgCarolina Farm Credit and AgSouth Farm Credit, announce the 2023 Innovative Young Farmer of the Year and Excellent in Agriculture award recipients. Both award recipients were recognized last month, at the recent NC Tobacco Farm Life Museum, Breakfast with the Commissioner. 

Lancaster Farms, recipient of the Innovative Young Farmer of the Year award, is a seventh generation farm in Stantonsburg, NC. Recognized family members includes Sarah Lancaster Carraway, Derek Lancaster, Bryant Lancaster, and Vann Lancaster. Lancaster Farms produces tobacco, cotton, peanuts, soybeans, wheat, sweetpotatoes and turkeys. 

Nominated by Norman Harrell, Wilson County Cooperative Extension Director, Harrell says “I believe these four young farmers are truly deserving to be recognized as the Innovative Young Farmer of the Year. They are hardworking and all play critical roles in the operation of Lancaster Farms. They are well on the way to preparing the farm for the eighth generation to return to the farm.”

In addition, Harrell explains that while the cousins are always working hard to produce high yielding crops and increase profitability, they know the generation before them is always there to provide them with advice and support when they need it. 


In addition to their roles operating the family farm, each of them serve the local agriculture community by serving on various boards such as the NC Sweetpotato Commission, NC Farm Bureau, Wilson County Cooperative Extension Advisory Council, Wilson County Young Farmers Association, and Wilson County Tobacco Advisory Committee.


Danny Kornegay, recipient of the Excellence in Agriculture award, is a diversified farmer from Princeton, North Carolina. As a lifelong farmer, he is well known throughout the state for his incredible contributions to the agriculture industry. His major commodities include tobacco, sweetpotatoes, cotton, soybeans, wheat, peanut, and hogs. 


In a joint statement, Evan Kleinhans, CEO of AgCarolina Farm Credit, and Vance Dalton, CEO of AgSouth Farm Credit, said: “We are pleased to recognize both Lancaster Farms and Danny Kornegay.. Both of these awards are well deserved as they are deeply committed to serving the agricultural industry. We commend them for their hard work and dedication as they are paving the way for future generations of North Carolina farmers.” 

Back to News